Our network

Fulton County School Among Blue Ribbon Winners | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Fulton County School Among Blue Ribbon Winners

ATLANTA, GA -- Six Georgia public schools were named 2010 National Blue Ribbon Schools today.

"These six schools are outstanding examples of how high expectations and hard work can lead to outstanding student achievement," said State Superintendent of Schools Brad Bryant. "These schools show that, regardless of a school's size, geography or demographics, all students can achieve at high levels."

The No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools award distinguishes and honors schools for helping students achieve at very high levels and for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced the National Blue Ribbon School award winners this morning.

Blue Ribbon Schools are chosen in two categories.

High Performing Schools are schools that scored in the top 10 percent in student achievement.

Dramatically Improved Schools are schools with at least 40 percent economically disadvantaged students that have dramatically improved student achievement to high levels.

One Georgia private school was also named a National Blue Ribbon School. The selection process for private schools is different.

Georgia's winning schools will join other national winners at an awards ceremony on Nov. 15 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

2010 Georgia Blue Ribbon Schools

* Etowah High School, Cherokee County
* Gainesville High School, Gainesville City Schools
* Ila Elementary School, Madison County
* Johnson Elementary School, Floyd County
* J.S. Pate Elementary School, Crisp County
* Webb Bridge Middle School, Fulton County

* St. John the Evangelist Catholic School, Hapeville

For more information about the Blue Ribbon Schools program, visit http://www.ed.gov/programs/nclbbrs/awards.html.


Alpharetta Deals